Quick answer: Stelo and Lingo are sold over the counter, so you do not need a prescription. Stelo states on its own site that it is a qualified medical expense and FSA and HSA eligible, including subscriptions. Lingo’s support page shows an “HSA/FSA eligible” label, but I could not find a detailed Lingo statement. I did not find a source saying private insurance or Medicare covers either device. Confirm with your plan administrator before relying on any of it.
Searching “Stelo HSA FSA” turns up a lot of third-party summaries that disagree. Here is what the manufacturers and primary sources actually say, what I could not verify, and a worked three-month cost example so you can see how the numbers move. This is general education, not tax, legal or insurance advice.
OTC status: what “over the counter” means for coverage
Stelo and Lingo are over-the-counter CGMs. GoodRx’s Stelo page says plainly that “Stelo is over-the-counter (OTC), and you don’t need a prescription to buy it.” Its Medicare page does not state a coverage determination for Medicare or private insurance, and the body text I fetched still carries outdated 2024 availability language. In practice, OTC products sit outside the usual prescription benefit, which is why most buyers pay directly. See which CGM for which goal for who each device is designed for.
HSA and FSA eligibility
| Device | What the maker says | What I could not verify |
|---|---|---|
| Stelo | Describes itself as a qualified medical expense and FSA and HSA eligible, including subscription plans; use the card at checkout or submit the invoice for reimbursement | Stelo’s page did not mention a letter of medical necessity |
| Lingo | Support center shows an “HSA/FSA eligible” label | No detailed Lingo statement or terms found |
| IRS rules | Plan administrators apply IRS rules to decide what qualifies | I did not retrieve an IRS page naming CGMs; confirm with your administrator |
Source: Stelo HSA/FSA pages; Lingo support center; GoodRx. Checked October 31, 2026. Stelo itself advises confirming with your plan administrator because IRS rules can change.
The practical takeaway: a manufacturer saying a product is eligible is helpful, but your plan administrator makes the call on your account. If a purchase is denied, ask them what documentation they want.
Prescription CGM coverage basics
Prescription CGMs such as Dexcom and Libre are a different category. For Medicare, Dexcom describes these criteria: a diabetes diagnosis; an FDA-indicated prescription; training; insulin treatment or documented problematic hypoglycemia (recurrent level 2 events below 54 mg/dL despite multiple treatment changes, or one level 3 event needing third-party help); an in-person or Medicare-approved telehealth visit within 6 months before ordering; and follow-up every 6 months. Dexcom says coverage was expanded effective April 16, 2023. The local coverage determination is L33822, and one version I saw was labeled “Future Effective,” so check CMS directly for the current wording.
Private plans vary widely. Many have their own criteria, prior authorization, or preferred brands.
How to ask your insurer or plan administrator
- Call the number on your card. Ask whether OTC CGMs like Stelo or Lingo are covered under any benefit.
- Ask whether a prescription CGM is covered for your diagnosis, and what prior authorization is needed.
- For HSA or FSA, ask: “Is a continuous glucose monitor sold over the counter an eligible expense on my account, and do you need documentation?”
- Write down the date, name and reference number.
Cost table with sources and dates
| Product | Example price | Duration | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stelo, two sensors | about $99 | up to 15 days each | GoodRx example, Dec 2024 |
| Stelo subscription, monthly | $89.00 (shown beside $99.00) | monthly | Stelo page, checked Oct 31, 2026 |
| Lingo, one sensor | $49 | up to 14 days | GoodRx example, Dec 2024 |
| Lingo, four-week | about $91 (GoodRx $89) | 4 weeks | Example prices, Dec 2024 |
Prices change often. These are labeled examples from earlier research, not current quotes. See Stelo vs Lingo cost for the per-day math.
Worked example: three months, with and without pre-tax dollars
This uses the example prices above and an assumed 22 percent marginal tax rate to illustrate how pre-tax HSA or FSA dollars can reduce the net cost. Your rate and tax treatment will differ, so ask a tax professional.
| Option | 3-month list cost | If paid pre-tax at 22% | Net effect |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stelo packs | $297.00 | $231.66 | saves about $65.34 |
| Stelo subscription | $267.00 | $208.26 | saves about $58.74 |
| Lingo four-week | $273.00 | $212.94 | saves about $60.06 |
Calculated in code from the example prices and the assumed rate. Not tax advice. The rate is an illustration.
The pre-tax figures only apply if your account actually accepts the purchase. Compare per-day cost, not just the month total, in Stelo vs Lingo and Lingo alternatives.
OTC or prescription: which path fits your situation?
The two paths answer different questions. An over-the-counter CGM answers “can I buy one without a prescription?” A prescription CGM answers “will my plan pay for one?” Per the labels summarized in which CGM for which goal, Stelo is for adults 18 and older who are not on insulin and do not have problematic hypoglycemia, and Lingo is for adults 18 and older who are not on insulin and is not meant to diagnose disease. Neither has glucose alarms. If you take insulin or have had low blood sugar episodes, that is a conversation for your clinician, and a prescription device may be the appropriate route. Do not choose a device mainly because of how it is paid for.
| Path | Typical payer | Who decides eligibility | Paperwork |
|---|---|---|---|
| OTC (Stelo, Lingo) | You, possibly with HSA or FSA dollars | Plan administrator for HSA or FSA | Receipt or invoice |
| Prescription CGM | Insurance or Medicare, if criteria are met | Plan and clinician | Prescription, visit notes, prior authorization possible |
| Employer wellness program | Varies | Employer or vendor | Ask HR; I found no verified source |
Summary of the sources above. The employer row is a general possibility, not a verified program. Rules vary by plan.
Practical steps if you want to use HSA or FSA dollars
- Check your balance and plan year. FSA funds often have deadlines, so ask your administrator about yours.
- Use the card at checkout when offered. Stelo says you can use your FSA or HSA card at checkout or submit the invoice for reimbursement.
- Keep the invoice. Save the order confirmation as a PDF in case your administrator asks for substantiation.
- Ask before you buy a subscription. Stelo says subscription plans are eligible, but ask your administrator how recurring charges are handled.
- If it is denied, ask what specific documentation or code they need, then contact the manufacturer’s support.
Remember that eligibility language on a company site describes the company’s position. The IRS rules and your plan documents govern your account, and I did not retrieve an IRS page that names CGMs, so I won’t claim one.
What to do with the sensor once you have it
Paying less for a sensor only helps if you use the data well. The consensus time-in-range targets I cite in how to read CGM data are: 70 to 180 mg/dL for more than 70 percent of the time, below 70 for under 4 percent, below 54 for under 1 percent, above 180 for under 25 percent, and above 250 for under 5 percent, measured over 14 days with at least 70 percent of sensor data active. Those targets are for people with diabetes, so ask your clinician which ones apply to you. If sensors keep falling off, see CGM sensor adhesive tips before you buy more.
Common mistakes
- Assuming “HSA eligible” on a website guarantees reimbursement.
- Not saving receipts and invoices.
- Mixing up OTC CGMs with prescription CGMs when calling an insurer.
- Relying on a three-year-old article for prices.
- Skipping the per-day math when comparing subscriptions.
Questions to ask at your next appointment
- Would a prescription CGM make sense for me, and would my plan cover it?
- If I use an OTC CGM, what should I do with the data? See how to read CGM data.
- Do you need to write anything for my HSA or FSA administrator?
Scenarios by situation
If you just want to try a CGM for a month or two
The over-the-counter route is the usual fit. Stelo and Lingo can be bought without a prescription, so the question is mostly price and whether you can pay with pre-tax dollars. Stelo states that it is FSA and HSA eligible, including subscriptions. Run the cost math using labeled example prices in Stelo vs Lingo cost and check current prices on the maker’s site, since the examples here are dated.
If you have diabetes and take insulin
Stelo’s intended users, as summarized in which CGM for which goal, exclude people on insulin and people with problematic hypoglycemia. In that situation the relevant path is a prescription CGM and your plan’s criteria, which is a conversation with your prescriber. Dexcom’s Medicare description includes insulin treatment as one of the qualifying situations, but eligibility is determined by Medicare and your plan, not by a blog post.
If you are on Medicare
I did not find a source saying Medicare covers Stelo. GoodRx’s page titled for Stelo Medicare coverage does not state a determination in its body and references an outdated 2024 launch window. For prescription CGMs, Dexcom outlines criteria, and the LCD number is L33822. One version I saw was labeled “Future Effective,” so check the CMS Medicare Coverage Database for the version in force for you. A Medicare plan representative or SHIP counselor can also walk through your specific plan.
If you have a high-deductible plan with an HSA
This is the most direct HSA scenario. Stelo says its product is a qualified medical expense and FSA and HSA eligible, and that you can use the card at checkout or submit the invoice for reimbursement. Confirm with your administrator, because Stelo itself notes that IRS rules can change. Keep the order confirmation.
If your employer offers an FSA
Many FSAs have a use-it-or-lose-it structure with plan-year rules, but the specifics differ by employer, so ask your administrator about deadlines and whether recurring subscriptions are handled differently. I did not verify these rules for any specific plan.
If you are comparing Stelo, Lingo and alternatives
Price and coverage are only part of the choice. Compare sensor duration, alarms, app experience and intended users. Stelo vs Lingo and Lingo alternatives cover that ground.
Myth versus fact
| Common belief | What the sources support | Takeaway |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance covers OTC CGMs | I found no source saying private insurance or Medicare covers Stelo or Lingo | Ask your plan; don’t assume |
| Over the counter means HSA eligible | Stelo states it is; Lingo shows an HSA/FSA label; your administrator decides | Confirm with your administrator |
| Medicare covers any CGM | Dexcom lists specific criteria for prescription CGMs | Check L33822 and your plan |
| A letter of medical necessity is always needed | Stelo’s page did not mention one; plans may differ | Ask your administrator |
Source: Stelo, GoodRx, Dexcom and Lingo pages checked October 31, 2026.
Pros and cons of paying with HSA or FSA dollars
| Pros | Cons | Watch for |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-tax dollars can lower net cost | Your account may deny the purchase | Documentation requests |
| Stelo says you can use the card at checkout | Rules can change, as Stelo notes | Plan-year deadlines for FSAs |
| Easy reimbursement with an invoice | Savings depend on your tax situation | Subscription handling |
General trade-offs. Not tax advice.
More worked examples, computed in code
The first example showed three months at one assumed tax rate. Here is how the pre-tax savings change with the assumed rate for a single Stelo subscription at the example price of $89.00 per month over 3 months, a total of $267.00.
| Assumed rate | Savings | Net cost |
|---|---|---|
| 10% | $26.70 | $240.30 |
| 12% | $32.04 | $234.96 |
| 22% | $58.74 | $208.26 |
| 24% | $64.08 | $202.92 |
| 32% | $85.44 | $181.56 |
Calculated in code from the example subscription price. Rates are assumptions for illustration, not your rate. Not tax advice.
Now compare cost per day, because sensors last different lengths. Using the example prices and the maximum durations shown in the table above (Stelo up to 15 days per sensor, Lingo up to 14 days per sensor):
| Product | Example cost per sensor | Max days | Cost per day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stelo pack | $49.50 | 15 | $3.30 |
| Lingo single | $49.00 | 14 | $3.50 |
Calculated in code from example prices (GoodRx, Dec 2024) and maximum durations. Actual wear can be shorter, and prices change.
If a sensor lasts fewer days than the maximum, the real daily cost rises, which is one more reason to read CGM sensor adhesive tips.
Questions to ask your insurer or plan administrator
- Is an over-the-counter CGM an eligible expense on my HSA or FSA, and what documentation do you require?
- Do recurring subscription charges qualify the same way?
- What is the deadline to use FSA funds this plan year?
- Is a prescription CGM covered for my diagnosis, and is prior authorization needed?
- Do you have a preferred CGM brand?
- Can you give me a reference number for this call?
Questions to ask the manufacturer
- Can you send an itemized invoice suitable for reimbursement?
- Do subscriptions renew automatically, and how do I cancel? (Lingo’s support center lists articles on renewal, pausing and cancellation.)
- What is the replacement policy for a sensor that fails?
Bottom line by situation
| Situation | What the sources point to | Next step |
|---|---|---|
| Want to buy Stelo | OTC; Stelo says HSA/FSA eligible | Confirm with your administrator |
| Want to buy Lingo | OTC; HSA/FSA label on support page | Confirm with Lingo and administrator |
| Want insurance to pay | No coverage source found for OTC | Ask your plan; discuss prescription CGM |
| On Medicare | Prescription criteria per Dexcom; L33822 | Check CMS and your plan |
| On insulin | Prescription path more likely relevant | Talk to your prescriber |
Summary of the sources above. General education, not insurance or tax advice.
How to read the fine print on any “eligible” claim
Three different parties can say something about eligibility, and they do not always agree. The manufacturer can describe its product as eligible, which is useful but is a marketing statement about the company’s understanding. Your plan administrator or the employer plan documents decide what is reimbursed on your account. And the IRS rules sit underneath both. I did not retrieve an IRS page that names continuous glucose monitors, so I am not asserting what the IRS says about them. When in doubt, ask your administrator in writing and keep the reply.
It also helps to separate the product from the purchase channel. Buying direct from the maker, a pharmacy, or a retailer can look different on a card statement, and administrators sometimes require an itemized receipt that names the product. Stelo says you can submit the invoice for reimbursement, which implies the invoice is the document to keep. If you use a subscription, save each monthly invoice, not only the first.
Why people end up paying out of pocket
OTC CGMs were created as consumer products for adults who do not take insulin. That positions them outside the prescription benefit, where coverage rules, prior authorization and formularies live. The consequence is straightforward: the same sensor technology can be reimbursed in one setting and paid for directly in another, depending on whether it is prescribed under criteria such as those Medicare describes. This is not a judgment about which is better. It is a reminder that who the device is intended for, who is prescribing it, and who is paying are three separate questions.
Building a simple budget
Before you commit, write down four numbers: the price per sensor or per month, how many days a sensor really lasts for you, how many sensors you expect to lose early, and whether you will pay with pre-tax dollars. The worked examples above handle the first two with labeled example prices. The third is covered in the adhesive guide, which shows how early failures raise monthly cost. The fourth depends on your administrator. Multiply out three months before you subscribe, then decide whether the information you will get is worth it to you. A CGM is a tool for learning, and many people use one for a limited stretch rather than indefinitely, but that is a personal decision to make with your clinician, not something I can recommend.
What a CGM can and cannot tell you
Coverage conversations sometimes skip the more basic point of what the device does. A CGM estimates glucose in the fluid under your skin and shows trends over time. Stelo and Lingo have no alarms. They do not diagnose disease, and Lingo’s intended use says as much. The data becomes useful when you compare it with the targets in how to read CGM data and discuss it with a clinician, especially if you have or suspect diabetes. For a wider orientation, see the complete guide to type 2 diabetes.
Sources
Frequently asked questions
Is Stelo covered by insurance?
I did not find a source saying private insurance or Medicare covers Stelo. It is sold over the counter. Ask your plan.
Is Stelo HSA or FSA eligible?
Stelo says it is a qualified medical expense and FSA and HSA eligible, including subscription plans. Confirm with your plan administrator because rules can change.
Is Lingo HSA or FSA eligible?
Lingo’s support center shows an HSA/FSA eligible label, but I did not find a detailed statement. Confirm with Lingo and your administrator.
Do I need a prescription for Stelo or Lingo?
No. GoodRx says Stelo is over the counter and does not require a prescription.
Does Medicare cover prescription CGMs?
Dexcom describes Medicare criteria including insulin treatment or documented problematic hypoglycemia, a recent visit and follow-up. Check CMS for the current LCD (L33822).
What should I ask my plan administrator?
Ask whether an over-the-counter CGM is an eligible expense, whether subscriptions qualify, what documentation is required, and the FSA deadline.
Does Stelo require a letter of medical necessity for HSA or FSA?
Stelo’s page did not mention one. Your plan administrator may have its own requirements.
How do I compare cost fairly?
Compare cost per day, not pack price, since sensors last different lengths. See the worked example and the cost guide.
Is the worked cost example real?
It uses labeled example prices and an assumed 22 percent tax rate for illustration only. It is not a quote or tax advice.
About the author: Charles Kirkland is the founder of Metabolic Clarity Labs and author of The Journey Back. He is not a physician. This is general education, not a medically reviewed treatment plan.
Sources checked October 31, 2026. Discuss personal decisions with a qualified clinician. Do not start, stop, or change prescribed treatment based on this article.


Leave a Reply