Wendy’s is one of the easier fast-food chains to plan around if you have diabetes, mostly because of two things: its small “Jr.” burgers and its chili. It is also one of the places where a combo meal quietly adds up, since the fries, the Coca-Cola, and the Frosty carry a lot of carbohydrate. This guide lays out the numbers we could find for burgers, chicken, sides, breakfast, salads, and drinks, shows where the carbs hide, and gives you a simple way to order.
Quick answer: Yes, people with diabetes eat at Wendy’s. In the sandwich table below, carbohydrate ranges from 25 grams (Jr. Hamburger) to 51 grams (Spicy Chicken Sandwich). The bun is most of it. The bigger swings come from what you add: a medium fries lists 47 grams, a medium Coca-Cola lists 87, and a medium vanilla Frosty lists 75. Swapping the fries and soda for apple slices and unsweetened tea changes a 172-gram combo into a 46-gram meal in the worked example. This is general education, not a personal meal plan. Your care team knows your targets and your medicines.
How to read the numbers in this guide
Wendy’s official nutrition pages were not reachable when we wrote this, so every figure comes from FastFoodNutrition.org, a third-party site that states Wendy’s as its source. That has three consequences. First, the pages are dated, mostly December 2021, with some updated as recently as October 2025, so a recipe or portion may have changed. Second, the source leaves gaps. It lists calories and protein for many items and leaves carbohydrate blank, and we show a dash rather than guess. Third, Wendy’s rotates limited-time sandwiches and drinks, which are not covered here. Use the Wendy’s app and its nutrition calculator for what is on your local menu today. If you want to practice reading labels, our nutrition label carbs guide shows how to separate total carbohydrate, fiber, and sugar.
Burgers and chicken: where the carbs are
Per FastFoodNutrition.org, which lists Wendy’s as its source. Its pages carry update dates from 2020 to 2025 (most are December 2021), and a dash means the source does not list that value. Menus change, so verify in the Wendy’s app before you order.
| Item | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jr. Hamburger | 270 | 25 | 1 | 5 | 14 |
| Jr. Cheeseburger | 310 | 26 | 1 | 6 | 16 |
| Dave’s Single Cheeseburger | 570 | 38 | – | – | 29 |
| Dave’s Double Cheeseburger | 810 | 39 | – | – | 49 |
| Baconator | 920 | 38 | – | – | 57 |
| Grilled Chicken Sandwich | 370 | 36 | 2 | 8 | 34 |
| Classic Chicken Sandwich | 490 | 49 | – | – | 28 |
| Spicy Chicken Sandwich | 500 | 51 | 3 | 5 | 28 |
| Crispy Chicken Sandwich | 330 | 32 | – | – | 14 |
| Grilled Chicken Ranch Wrap | 420 | 41 | 2 | 2 | 27 |
The pattern is easy to see. The two Jr. burgers sit at 25 and 26 grams. The Dave’s Single lists 38 grams and the Dave’s Double 39 grams, so a second patty adds only about 1 gram of carbohydrate while adding 240 calories and 20 grams of protein (810 minus 570, and 49 minus 29). The Baconator is at 38 grams, in line with the Dave’s Single, though it lists far more calories at 920. Meat and cheese change the carbohydrate count very little. Calories and sodium are a separate question for you and your clinician.
Chicken is not automatically lower in carbohydrate. The Classic Chicken Sandwich lists 49 grams and the Spicy Chicken Sandwich 51 grams, both higher than any burger in the table, because the breading and the bun both count. The Grilled Chicken Sandwich lists 36 grams with 34 grams of protein, and the Grilled Chicken Ranch Wrap lists 41. The Crispy Chicken Sandwich lists 330 calories and 32 grams of carbohydrate with only 14 grams of protein, and its fiber and sugar are not listed.
Chicken nuggets are another option, and the carbohydrate scales with the count.
| Item | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicken Nuggets, 4 piece | 170 | 10 | – | – | 9 |
| Chicken Nuggets, 6 piece | 250 | 14 | – | – | 13 |
| Chicken Nuggets, 10 piece | 420 | 24 | 1 | 0 | 22 |
Four nuggets list 10 grams, six list 14, and ten list 24. The source gives calories and protein but no carbohydrate for the Spicy Chicken Nuggets or the Chicken Tenders, so check those in the app. These nugget pages are dated October 2025, which makes them the most current numbers in this guide.
Fries, baked potatoes, and chili
Per FastFoodNutrition.org, which lists Wendy’s as its source. Its pages carry update dates from 2020 to 2025 (most are December 2021), and a dash means the source does not list that value. Menus change, so verify in the Wendy’s app before you order.
| Item | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| French Fries, junior | 210 | 28 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
| French Fries, small | 260 | 35 | 3 | 0 | 4 |
| French Fries, medium | 350 | 47 | 4 | 0 | 5 |
| French Fries, large | 470 | 63 | 5 | 0 | 7 |
| Cheese Fries | 470 | 44 | 3 | 1 | 12 |
| Plain Baked Potato | 270 | 61 | 7 | 3 | 7 |
| Sour Cream & Chives Baked Potato | 310 | 63 | 7 | 4 | 8 |
| Chili & Cheese Baked Potato | 500 | 74 | 10 | 7 | 20 |
| Chili, small | 240 | 21 | – | – | 16 |
| Chili, large | 330 | 30 | 10 | 9 | 22 |
| Apple Slices | 35 | 8 | – | – | 0 |
This is the table where the order you build matters most. Fries step up by size: 28 grams for a junior, 35 for a small, 47 for a medium, and 63 for a large. The medium to large jump alone is 16 grams (63 minus 47). A baked potato is not a lighter option. The plain one lists 61 grams and the Chili & Cheese Baked Potato lists 74, though they also carry 7 to 10 grams of fiber. The chili is the standout: a small lists 21 grams of carbohydrate with 16 grams of protein, and a large lists 30 grams with 22 grams of protein. One oddity: the source lists 10 grams of fiber for the large chili and no fiber for the small, and we have no way to confirm that the two sizes differ that much, so treat the fiber figure as unverified.
Apple Slices list 8 grams, which is why they work as a swap for fries.
Breakfast
Per FastFoodNutrition.org, which lists Wendy’s as its source. Its pages carry update dates from 2020 to 2025 (most are December 2021), and a dash means the source does not list that value. Menus change, so verify in the Wendy’s app before you order.
| Item | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sausage, Egg & Cheese English Muffin | 540 | 31 | 1 | 5 | 20 |
| Bacon, Egg & Cheese English Muffin | 370 | 30 | – | – | 17 |
| Honey Butter Biscuit | 310 | 32 | – | – | 3 |
| Oatmeal Bar | 270 | 44 | – | – | 3 |
| Seasoned Potatoes, small | 230 | 32 | 3 | 12 | 3 |
The English muffin sandwiches list 30 and 31 grams of carbohydrate. The Honey Butter Biscuit lists 32 grams with only 3 grams of protein, and the Oatmeal Bar lists 44 grams. The Seasoned Potatoes list 32 grams for a small, with 12 grams of sugar. The Breakfast Burrito and the French Toast Sticks list calories and protein only (the burrito at 720 to 830 calories depending on the meat, and 4 or 6 French Toast Sticks at 330 and 490 calories), so we cannot give you carbohydrate for them. Some of these pages are dated 2020, so confirm in the app.
Salads and dressings
Per FastFoodNutrition.org, which lists Wendy’s as its source. Its pages carry update dates from 2020 to 2025 (most are December 2021), and a dash means the source does not list that value. Menus change, so verify in the Wendy’s app before you order.
| Item | Calories | Carbs (g) | Protein (g) | Dressing in the number? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cobb Salad | 680 | 19 | 37 | Yes (ranch) |
| Apple Pecan Chicken Salad, half | 400 | – | 24 | Not stated |
| Apple Pecan Chicken Salad, full | 520 | – | 39 | Not stated |
| Parmesan Caesar Salad, half | 320 | – | 29 | Not stated |
| Parmesan Caesar Salad, full | 480 | – | 50 | Not stated |
| Taco Salad, half | 450 | – | 17 | Not stated |
| Taco Salad, full | 690 | – | 30 | Not stated |
Salads are where the source leaves the biggest holes. Only the Cobb Salad has a carbohydrate figure, at 19 grams, and that number includes the ranch dressing. For the other salads we have calories and protein only, and the source does not say whether dressing is included. That matters, because dressings and sauces can carry real carbohydrate.
| Item | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Classic Ranch | 100 | 2 | – | – | 1 |
| Italian Vinaigrette | 70 | 4 | – | – | 0 |
| Light Honey French Dressing | 40 | 9 | 0 | 8 | 0 |
| Honey BBQ Dipping Sauce (1 packet) | 70 | 16 | 0 | 14 | 0 |
Classic Ranch lists 2 grams of carbohydrate and the Italian Vinaigrette 4. The Light Honey French dressing, despite the word “light,” lists 9 grams, 8 of them sugar. A single Honey BBQ Dipping Sauce packet lists 16 grams, 14 of them sugar. “Light” on a dressing means fewer calories, not necessarily fewer carbohydrates.
Frosty treats and drinks
Per FastFoodNutrition.org, which lists Wendy’s as its source. Its pages carry update dates from 2020 to 2025 (most are December 2021), and a dash means the source does not list that value. Menus change, so verify in the Wendy’s app before you order.
| Item | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vanilla Frosty, junior | 190 | 32 | 0 | 27 | 5 |
| Vanilla Frosty, small | 340 | 56 | 0 | 47 | 9 |
| Vanilla Frosty, medium | 450 | 75 | 0 | 63 | 12 |
| Chocolate Frosty, junior | 200 | 33 | 0 | 27 | 6 |
| Chocolate Frosty, small | 350 | 58 | – | – | 10 |
| Coca-Cola, small | 200 | 54 | 0 | 54 | 0 |
| Coca-Cola, medium | 320 | 87 | – | – | 0 |
| Sweet Iced Tea, small | 160 | 41 | – | – | 0 |
| Sweet Iced Tea, medium | 220 | 58 | 0 | 56 | 0 |
| Lemonade, small | 190 | 50 | 0 | 47 | 0 |
| Unsweetened Iced Tea, small | 0 | – | – | – | 0 |
This is where the largest single numbers appear. A medium Coca-Cola lists 87 grams of carbohydrate, the largest single number in this guide. A medium vanilla Frosty lists 75 grams, 63 of them sugar, and a small lists 56. A small lemonade lists 50 and a medium sweet tea lists 58. The junior Frosty is the smallest sweet treat listed, at 32 to 33 grams. The only zero-calorie drink we checked is the unsweetened iced tea, which lists 0 calories in the small and medium. The source does not list a carbohydrate value for it, so we show a dash. We did not check the pages for diet or zero-sugar sodas.
A worked example: three orders, computed
Here is how to read the tables as a ledger. We add up only carbohydrate figures that are listed. The numbers below are arithmetic on the tables above, not predictions of how any person’s glucose will respond.
| Meal | What is in it | Carbs from the table (g) |
|---|---|---|
| A: the combo | Dave’s Single (38) + medium fries (47) + medium Coca-Cola (87) | 38 + 47 + 87 = 172 |
| A, drink swapped | Same meal with unsweetened iced tea in place of the Coca-Cola | 172 − 87 = 85 |
| A, drink and side swapped | Also apple slices in place of the medium fries | 85 − 47 + 8 = 46 |
| B: grilled chicken | Grilled Chicken Sandwich (36) + apple slices (8) + unsweetened iced tea | 36 + 8 = 44 |
| C: chili and a junior burger | Small chili (21) + Jr. Hamburger (25) + apple slices (8) | 21 + 25 + 8 = 54 |
The combo (A) comes to 172 grams. Swapping the Coca-Cola for unsweetened iced tea cuts that by 87 to 85, and swapping the fries for apple slices brings it to 46. That is a 126-gram difference from two substitutions, with the same burger. The grilled chicken order (B) comes to 44 grams, and the chili and junior burger order (C) comes to 54. One caveat: the unsweetened tea has no carbohydrate figure in the source, only 0 calories, so we counted it as zero.
A simple way to order
- Pick the main. The Jr. burgers are the lowest in the table, and the Grilled Chicken Sandwich lists 34 grams of protein for 36 grams of carbohydrate. Extra patties add little carbohydrate.
- Treat the combo as three decisions. The main, the side, and the drink are each a choice, and the drink and the side are where the big numbers are.
- Choose the side on purpose. Apple slices, a small chili, or a junior fries are each far below a large fries.
- Choose an unsweetened drink. Unsweetened iced tea and water remove the largest carbohydrate item from the tray.
- Skip the dipping sauce or take one. A single Honey BBQ packet is 16 grams.
- Keep the Frosty for a planned day. It is a dessert with 32 to 75 grams, and a junior size is the smallest.
If you track your own response, our post-meal glucose tracker and CGM reading guide show how to compare two meals fairly. A walk after eating is something many people try, and our walking after meals guide covers what studies found. Wendy’s is also one of several chains we cover: see the McDonald’s guide for a comparison, and the type 2 diabetes diet guide for building meals outside restaurants.
Common mistakes
- Ordering the combo by default. The fries and the soda are usually the two largest carbohydrate additions.
- Assuming chicken is lower in carbs. The Classic and Spicy Chicken Sandwiches list 49 and 51 grams, higher than every burger in the table.
- Trusting “light” on a dressing. The Light Honey French lists 9 grams of carbohydrate, more than Classic Ranch.
- Forgetting the sauce packet. A Honey BBQ packet lists 16 grams.
- Treating a baked potato as a free pass. The plain one lists 61 grams.
- Leaning on old numbers. Many pages in the source date from 2021. Check the Wendy’s app.
- Judging a meal by one reading. One glucose reading is a snapshot. Look at patterns over several meals.
Questions to bring to your appointment
- How many grams of carbohydrate should I aim for in a meal at a restaurant?
- Do my medicines make a high-carbohydrate meal or a skipped meal riskier?
- Should I test before and after a fast-food meal, and when?
- Would a CGM or a dietitian visit help me plan restaurant days?
Frequently asked questions
Can I eat at Wendy’s if I have diabetes?
Many people with diabetes do. What matters is the total carbohydrate in the meal, your medicines, and your own targets. The tables above show that the bun, fries, baked potatoes, Frosty treats, and sweet drinks supply most of the carbohydrate, so the combination you build makes a big difference. Ask your care team what range suits you.
What is the lowest-carb thing at Wendy’s?
Among items with a published carbohydrate figure in our source, Apple Slices list 8 grams and the Cobb Salad (with ranch) 19 grams. For main items, a small chili lists 21 grams, the Jr. Hamburger 25 grams, and the Jr. Cheeseburger 26 grams. Unsweetened iced tea lists 0 calories. Many salads and the tenders have no carbohydrate figure in the source, so check them in the app.
How many carbs are in Wendy’s chili?
The source lists 21 grams of carbohydrate and 16 grams of protein for a small chili, and 30 grams of carbohydrate and 22 grams of protein for a large. The large chili also lists 10 grams of fiber, but the small lists none, so treat the fiber figures as unverified. The pages are dated December 2021, so confirm in the Wendy’s app.
How many carbs are in Wendy’s fries?
The source lists 28 grams for a junior, 35 for a small, 47 for a medium, and 63 for a large, with 2 to 5 grams of fiber. Those pages are dated November 2022. Choosing a smaller size is one of the simplest ways to cut the total.
Is the Wendy’s Frosty okay with diabetes?
No food is automatically off limits, but the numbers are large. The source lists 32 grams of carbohydrate for a junior vanilla Frosty, 56 for a small, and 75 for a medium, with most of it sugar. A junior is the smallest option. Ask your care team how a dessert fits your plan.
Do Wendy’s salads have a lot of carbs?
It depends on the toppings and dressing. Only the Cobb Salad has a carbohydrate figure in our source, at 19 grams including ranch. For the other salads we have calories and protein only. Dressings add more: Classic Ranch lists 2 grams and Light Honey French lists 9. Use the app to build the exact salad.
How do I know how a Wendy’s meal affects my blood sugar?
The only way to know is to measure your own response, ideally across several meals. A glucose meter before and after, or a CGM, shows the pattern. Our post-meal glucose tracker and CGM reading guides explain how to compare meals fairly, and your clinician can tell you which readings to act on.
About the author: Charles Kirkland is the founder of Metabolic Clarity Labs and author of The Journey Back. He is not a physician. This is general education, not a medically reviewed treatment plan.
Sources checked October 31, 2026. Discuss personal decisions with a qualified clinician. Do not start, stop, or change prescribed treatment based on this article.


Leave a Reply