Aldi is a different kind of grocery trip. The stores are small, the selection is mostly store brands, and the stock changes from week to week, which is part of the appeal and part of the challenge if you are counting carbohydrates. This guide looks at what Aldi labels actually say for the kinds of foods people with diabetes or prediabetes buy most often, where the sugar hides, and how a few cart decisions change a day of eating.
Quick answer: Aldi carries plenty of foods that fit a lower-carbohydrate plan, such as plain Greek yogurt, chicken sausage, riced cauliflower and unsweetened almond milk, and it also carries “protein” granola, flavored yogurt, and quinoa pouches that look healthy and are not low in carbohydrate. In the examples below, a cart of plain Greek yogurt, chicken sausage and riced cauliflower comes to 13.8 g of carbohydrate, while a quinoa pouch, a strawberry yogurt and the same sausage comes to 101 g. Labels vary by product, package and region, so read the package in your hand and ask your care team what range fits you. This is general education, not medical advice.
How to read these numbers
Aldi does not publish one nutrition table for the whole store, and the retailer’s own pages could not be opened by the tools used for this guide. So every figure below comes from Open Food Facts, a crowd-sourced database where volunteers copy the numbers from the package. That makes it useful and also imperfect. Every page we used carries a banner saying the product page is not complete, a few list per-100 g values that we converted to the serving, and one page contains a calorie figure that does not match its own per-100 g numbers. We say so in the notes under each table.
A dash in a table means the page did not list a value. It does not mean zero. Where we converted a per-100 g value to a serving, the label says so, and a converted number is an estimate, not what is printed on the package. Aldi also rotates products, so a flavor or size here may be gone or changed by the time you shop. Use these tables as a map of where the carbohydrates tend to be, then confirm on the package.
What is different about shopping at Aldi
A few features of the store change how you read labels. First, most of what is on the shelf is sold under Aldi’s own brand names, and the same type of food often comes in several brands. In this guide you will see Friendly Farms for dairy, Simply Nature for organic and natural items, Never Any for meat, L’oven Fresh for bread, Millville for cereal, oatmeal and granola, and Season’s Choice for frozen vegetables. Those names are a convenience for finding things, not a nutrition claim, and a brand name tells you nothing about carbohydrate.
Second, the weekly special items and seasonal products change often. A snack bar you bought last month may not be on the shelf now, and a lookalike may have a different label. Third, the stores are small, so there are fewer versions of each food. That can make decisions easier, because there may be only two or three yogurts to compare, but it also means the “healthy-looking” option is sometimes the only option in its category, and it needs the same label check as anything else.
Finally, a store full of store brands can make price the main filter. Cheap does not mean high-carbohydrate and expensive does not mean low. The only way to know is to read the carbohydrate, fiber and added sugar lines, which the next section walks through.
Five Aldi label traps
- The pouch is one serving. The Simply Nature 90-second quinoa and brown rice page lists one pouch (249 g) as a serving, with 82 g of carbohydrate and 14 g of fiber. A single microwave pouch can use a large share of a day’s carbohydrate for someone on a lower-carbohydrate plan. The same page lists 450 calories per serving, but its per-100 g figure works out to about 254 calories for the pouch, so the page contradicts itself and the package is the only reliable source.
- “Plain” and “flavored” yogurt are different products. The Friendly Farms plain Greek yogurts list 5 to 6 g of carbohydrate per 170 g. The strawberry version lists 17 g with 10 g of added sugars, and another nonfat Greek yogurt page lists 15 g with 9 g added. The tub looks the same and the carbohydrate is about three times higher.
- “Protein” on the front is not a carbohydrate claim. The Millville protein granola lists 13 g of protein and also 38 g of carbohydrate, 20 g of sugars and 20 g of added sugars in a 65 g serving. Protein and sugar can both be high in the same food.
- Look at the serving size before the number. The granola serving is 0.667 cup, which is smaller than many cereal bowls. Two servings is 76 g of carbohydrate on those figures. Bread is similar: the 12 grain bread lists 19 g for one slice, so a sandwich is at least 38 g before anything else goes on it.
- Added sugars and total sugars are different lines. The Super Zero vanilla yogurt page lists 0 g of added sugars, 5 g of sugars and 12 g of total carbohydrate. The page does not list a fiber value to explain the gap, so the label is where to look. Ask your care team how they want you to count sugar substitutes and fiber.
Yogurt, dairy, and plant milk
| Item and listed serving | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Added sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Friendly Farms whole milk plain Greek yogurt (170 g) | 150 | 5 | 0 | 5 | – | 16 |
| Friendly Farms nonfat plain Greek yogurt (170 g, converted from per-100 g) | 100 | 6 | 0 | 6 | – | 18 |
| Friendly Farms nonfat Greek yogurt, flavor not stated (170 g) | 120 | 15 | 0 | 14 | 9 | 15 |
| Friendly Farms strawberry nonfat Greek yogurt (170 g) | 130 | 17 | 0.9 | 16 | 10 | 14 |
| Friendly Farms Super Zero vanilla blended Greek yogurt (150 g) | 100 | 12 | – | 5 | 0 | 13 |
| Simply Nature organic unsweetened almond milk (240 ml) | 40 | 2 | 1 | 1 | – | 1 |
Source: Open Food Facts product pages for each item. Edit dates: whole milk plain (February 2026), nonfat plain (May 2026, per-100 g values converted to a 170 g serving), nonfat Greek flavor not stated (June 2026), strawberry (September 2026), Super Zero vanilla (August 2026), almond milk (December 2024). All pages say they are not complete.
Greek yogurt is one of the easier foods to fit into a lower-carbohydrate plan, but only the plain versions. The whole milk plain yogurt lists 5 g of carbohydrate and 16 g of protein for 170 g. The nonfat plain version lists about 6 g and 18 g on our conversion. Both are low enough that a serving plus a handful of nuts leaves room in a meal. The flavored versions are a different story: the strawberry yogurt lists 17 g of carbohydrate, 16 g of sugars and 10 g of added sugars, so one flavored cup uses roughly three plain cups’ worth of carbohydrate. The Super Zero version is aimed at people watching sugar and lists 0 g added, and it still lists 12 g of total carbohydrate for 150 g, so it sits in the middle.
The Simply Nature unsweetened almond milk lists 2 g of carbohydrate and 1 g of fiber per cup. The word “unsweetened” matters there. Original and vanilla plant milks often carry added sugar, and the front of the carton will not tell you which one you are holding. The fastest check is to find “Added Sugars” on the label and confirm it says 0 g.
Bread, oatmeal, and granola
| Item and listed serving | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Added sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| L’oven Fresh 12 grain bread (1 slice, 43 g) | 120 | 19 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 5 |
| L’oven Fresh premium Italian bread (35 g) | 90 | 17 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Millville protein instant oatmeal (1 packet, 52 g) | 200 | 34 | 4 | 12 | 7 | 10 |
| Millville oats and dark chocolate protein crunchy granola (0.667 cup, 65 g) | 260 | 38 | 4 | 20 | 20 | 13 |
Source: Open Food Facts. The 12 grain bread page was edited May 2026, the premium Italian bread page August 2024, the protein oatmeal page June 2025 (its total carbohydrate field is blank and 34 g comes from the carbohydrate line), and the protein granola page October 2026 with serving-size units marked inconsistently.
This is the aisle where the label does the most work. The 12 grain bread lists 19 g of carbohydrate and 3 g of fiber per 43 g slice, while the premium Italian loaf lists 17 g for a 35 g portion and no fiber. Two slices of the 12 grain bread is 38 g before fillings, so bread is a good place to ask your care team what a normal portion looks like for you. If you track your readings, our post-meal glucose tracker lets you compare the same sandwich on different days.
The Millville protein instant oatmeal lists 34 g of carbohydrate, 4 g of fiber, 12 g of sugars and 7 g of added sugars in one 52 g packet. That is quite different from plain rolled oats, which we cover in our oatmeal and blood sugar guide. Flavored instant packets are convenient, and the sugar is what the convenience costs. The protein granola is the highest in this table at 38 g, and 20 g of that is added sugar.
Protein, produce, and frozen foods
| Item and listed serving | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Sugars (g) | Added sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Never Any mild Italian chicken sausage (85 g, calculated from per-100 g) | 150 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Season’s Choice plain riced cauliflower (85 g, estimated from per-100 g) | 17 | 3.4 | 1.7 | 1.7 | – | 1.7 |
| Simply Nature 90-second quinoa and brown rice (1 pouch, 249 g) | 450 | 82 | 14 | – | 0 | 11 |
Source: Open Food Facts. The chicken sausage page was edited April 2026 and its values are calculated from per-100 g figures for an 85 g portion. The riced cauliflower page was last edited in February 2022 and lists per-100 g values, so the 85 g figures are estimates; the page also contains an obvious calcium and phosphorus error, so treat it with caution. The quinoa pouch page was edited May 2026 and lists the brand as “Nature.”
Chicken sausage and riced cauliflower are the two items here that fit most plans easily. The mild Italian chicken sausage lists about 2 g of carbohydrate and 15 g of protein for an 85 g portion, and the plain riced cauliflower works out to about 3 g. Other flavors of sausage and other cauliflower products, such as seasoned versions with sauces, will list more, so the plain bag is the one these numbers describe. Frozen vegetables are a convenient way to add fiber, and we use riced cauliflower in the carts below because the label is simple.
The quinoa and brown rice pouch is the opposite. It is a whole-grain food with 14 g of fiber, and it is also 82 g of carbohydrate in one pouch. Whole grain and fiber are good things, and they do not make a food low in carbohydrate. If a pouch is part of your plan, ask your care team whether half a pouch is a more realistic portion, and what you should eat it with.
A worked example: four carts
These example carts are built only from the listed servings above, with the arithmetic shown. They are illustrations of how choices add up, not recommendations for what you should eat.
| Cart | What is in it | Carb math | Fiber |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cart A: lower-carb breakfast and dinner | Friendly Farms whole milk plain Greek yogurt; Never Any mild Italian chicken sausage; Season’s Choice plain riced cauliflower; Season’s Choice plain riced cauliflower | 5 + 2 + 3.4 + 3.4 = 13.8 g | 3.4 g |
| Cart B: same dinner, but the quinoa pouch and a fruit yogurt | Friendly Farms strawberry nonfat Greek yogurt; Never Any mild Italian chicken sausage; Simply Nature 90-second quinoa and brown rice | 17 + 2 + 82 = 101 g | 14.9 g |
| Cart C: the “protein” breakfast aisle | Millville oats and dark chocolate protein crunchy granola; Millville protein instant oatmeal; Friendly Farms Super Zero vanilla blended Greek yogurt | 38 + 34 + 12 = 84 g | 8 g |
| Cart D: sandwich lunch | L’oven Fresh 12 grain bread; L’oven Fresh 12 grain bread; Friendly Farms nonfat plain Greek yogurt | 19 + 19 + 6 = 44 g | 6 g |
Cart A comes to 13.8 g of carbohydrate, split between the yogurt and two portions of cauliflower. Cart B keeps the same sausage and swaps in the strawberry yogurt and the quinoa pouch, and it totals 101 g. That is 87.2 g more, almost all of it from one pouch. Cart C is what many people think of as the high-protein breakfast aisle, and it comes to 84 g, because granola, oatmeal and a blended yogurt each carry carbohydrate. Cart D is a simple sandwich lunch with two slices of 12 grain bread and a plain yogurt, and it comes to 44 g before any fillings. Notice that no cart contains anything you would call junk food. The totals diverge because of the form each food comes in.
Myth versus fact
- Myth: “Store brand means lower quality, so the nutrition is worse.” Fact: store brand has no fixed relationship to carbohydrate content. The plain Friendly Farms yogurt lists 5 to 6 g of carbohydrate, and the Millville protein granola lists 38 g. The ingredient list and label decide, not the brand.
- Myth: “High protein means low carbohydrate.” Fact: the protein granola lists 13 g of protein and 38 g of carbohydrate. The protein oatmeal lists 10 g of protein and 34 g of carbohydrate.
- Myth: “Whole grain means it will not raise blood sugar much.” Fact: the quinoa and brown rice pouch is a whole grain food with 14 g of fiber and 82 g of carbohydrate. Fiber helps, and total carbohydrate still matters. How a food affects you is individual, which is why people use meters or CGMs to check.
- Myth: “Zero added sugar means low carbohydrate.” Fact: the Super Zero vanilla yogurt lists 0 g added sugars and 12 g of carbohydrate. It is lower than the fruit yogurts and higher than plain.
- Myth: “Frozen vegetables are all the same.” Fact: plain riced cauliflower and a seasoned or sauced bag are different products. Plain is the one in the table.
A simple way to shop the store
You do not need a different strategy for Aldi, just a repeatable one. Start in the refrigerated and frozen sections and fill the base of the cart with foods that have short ingredient lists: plain yogurt, eggs, plain frozen vegetables, unflavored meat and fish. Those are the foods with the least label work. Then go to the middle aisles with a specific list, because that is where the sugar-heavy products are shelved next to plain ones and where the front-of-package claims are loudest.
When you pick up a packaged food, check four things in this order: the serving size, the total carbohydrate, the fiber, and the added sugars. If the serving size is smaller than what you would really eat, multiply. If the total carbohydrate is much higher than the sugars plus fiber, there is starch, and starch counts. If you use a CGM or a meter, test the foods that you eat often, since the same 30 g of carbohydrate can look different from person to person. Our nutrition label guide goes through this process line by line.
It also helps to decide your breakfast and snack items ahead of time, since those are the categories where packaged products dominate. Many people find that two or three go-to breakfasts and a short list of snacks make shopping at a small, store-brand-heavy store quick. If you need ideas for the rest of the day, our diabetes food guide and diet for type 2 diabetes cover meals in more detail.
Common mistakes
- Buying by the front of the package. “Protein,” “whole grain,” “organic” and “natural” are marketing words. The carbohydrate line is the fact.
- Picking a flavor without checking it. Plain and flavored versions of the same yogurt differ by 10 g or more.
- Counting a pouch or packet as a snack. A microwave pouch of grains and a packet of instant oatmeal are a whole meal of carbohydrate.
- Assuming last month’s label still applies. Aldi rotates products and recipes. Check again when the package looks different.
- Treating a database number as final. Crowd-sourced entries have errors. Use them as a starting point and trust the package in your hand.
Questions to bring to your appointment
- What carbohydrate range per meal and per snack should I aim for?
- How should I count fiber, and what do I do with sugar substitutes?
- Is Greek yogurt a good staple for me, and should it be plain, whole milk or nonfat?
- Would a continuous glucose monitor help me learn which packaged foods matter for me?
For other stores, see our guides to Costco and Trader Joe’s, plus the Walmart guide. Our grocery store guides hub lists them all.
Frequently asked questions
Is Aldi good for people with diabetes?
Aldi sells foods that fit many eating plans, including plain Greek yogurt, chicken sausage, plain frozen vegetables and unsweetened plant milk, and it also sells high-carbohydrate packaged foods like granola, quinoa pouches and flavored yogurt. The result depends on what you choose and on the portion, not on the store.
What is the lowest-carb yogurt at Aldi?
On the pages we checked, the Friendly Farms whole milk plain Greek yogurt lists 5 g of carbohydrate per 170 g and the nonfat plain lists about 6 g. Flavored versions list 12 to 17 g. Stock changes, so confirm on the package.
Is the Aldi protein granola low in carbohydrate?
No. The Millville oats and dark chocolate protein granola lists 38 g of carbohydrate, 20 g of sugars and 20 g of added sugars for a 65 g serving, along with 13 g of protein.
How many carbs are in the Aldi quinoa and brown rice pouch?
The page we found lists 82 g of carbohydrate and 14 g of fiber for one 249 g pouch. The same page’s calorie numbers do not agree with each other, so check the package.
Does Aldi riced cauliflower have carbs?
Yes, a small amount. The plain Season’s Choice riced cauliflower page lists 4 g of carbohydrate per 100 g, which is about 3 g for an 85 g serving. The page is old, so check your bag, and note that seasoned versions list more.
Is Aldi unsweetened almond milk low carb?
The Simply Nature organic unsweetened almond milk page lists 2 g of carbohydrate, 1 g of sugars and 1 g of fiber per cup. Original and vanilla versions of plant milks can contain added sugar, so look for 0 g added.
Can I trust Open Food Facts numbers?
They are a useful starting point, since volunteers copy them from packages, but entries can be incomplete or wrong. Every page used here is marked incomplete and a few have internal conflicts. The package label is the final word.
Should I count net carbs for Aldi products?
Methods for net carbs vary and depend on the product, so this site does not endorse a net carb number for treatment decisions. Ask your care team whether and how they want you to subtract fiber or sugar alcohols.
About the author: Charles Kirkland is the founder of Metabolic Clarity Labs and author of The Journey Back. He is not a physician. This is general education, not a medically reviewed treatment plan.
Sources checked October 31, 2026. Discuss personal decisions with a qualified clinician. Do not start, stop, or change prescribed treatment based on this article.


Leave a Reply