Pizza is one of the most common questions people with diabetes ask, because it combines a starchy crust, a high-fat topping, and a food that is easy to eat more of than you planned. This guide goes through Domino’s menu using the nutrition figures we could find, shows how much the crust and the sides change the total, and gives you worked example orders so you can see the effect of a few choices.
Quick answer: At Domino’s, the carbohydrate total is driven by three things: the crust, the number of slices, and what you add. The listed hand-tossed and deep-dish servings in the database we used are each about 54 to 55 g of carbs, while the listed thin-crust serving is 31 g. Wings are far lower in carbs than pizza, though sweet sauces change that quickly. Desserts and sweet drinks can add as much as a slice or two. This is general education, not medical advice. Ask your care team what carbohydrate range fits you.
Why Domino’s is hard to count
Restaurant pizza has more moving parts than a burger. The same “slice” changes with the size of the pizza, how many slices it was cut into, and how much cheese and topping went on. Stores also cut pizzas differently, so a slice at your location may not match the one in a database. A few practical points follow from that.
- The crust is where most carbs sit. Cheese, pepperoni, and sausage add fat and protein, but the crust sets the carb floor.
- Slice counts are not standard. The database page for the large hand-tossed pizza gives a serving of 159 g and does not say whether that is one slice or something else. We treat it as the listed serving and flag the uncertainty below.
- Add-ons stack. Breads, tots, sweet sauces, and desserts each add their own carbs on top of the pizza.
Pizza by crust and size
The table below shows what the database lists for four pizza options, plus two single-slice figures from a hospital nutrition library for comparison. The library figures are for a 14-inch hand-tossed pizza, one slice, and are given as decimals, which suggests they are derived from a different data set.
| Item | Listed serving | Calories | Carbs (g) | Fiber (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Large hand-tossed cheese | 159 g (unit not stated) | 374 | 55 | 3 | 15 |
| Large thin crust | 106 g (unit not stated) | 273 | 31 | 2 | 12 |
| Large deep dish cheese | 173 g (unit not stated) | 455 | 54 | 3 | 18 |
| 6-inch deep dish (personal) | 215 g, whole pizza | 598 | 68 | 4 | 23 |
| 14” hand-tossed cheese, 1 slice (hospital library) | 1 slice | 272 | 36.5 | 1.5 | 11.6 |
| 14” hand-tossed pepperoni, 1 slice (hospital library) | 1 slice | 324 | 38.8 | 1.8 | 13.9 |
Source: FastFoodNutrition.org, which lists Domino’s as its source and shows no date on these pages; the last two rows are from the University Hospitals Health & Wellness Library, which shows no data date. Menus change, so verify in the Domino’s app.
The two sources disagree. The database lists the large hand-tossed cheese serving at 55 g of carbs. The hospital library lists one slice of a 14-inch hand-tossed cheese pizza at 36.5 g. That is a gap of about 18 g for what may be the same item. We cannot tell whether the 159 g serving is a larger slice, a different cut, or something else, and neither page explains it. Use the numbers as a range, and check the app for your size.
Crust choices compared
On the listed servings, thin crust has the least carbohydrate (31 g) and hand-tossed and deep dish are similar (55 g and 54 g). Part of that gap is simply that the thin-crust serving weighs less (106 g against 159 g and 173 g). Per 100 g of food, the carbs are about 29.2 g for thin crust, 34.6 g for hand-tossed, and 31.2 g for deep dish. So thin crust is lower per piece mostly because the piece is lighter, and not because the dough is dramatically different. The practical takeaway is that a smaller, lighter slice helps, and two thin slices are not the same as one hand-tossed slice.
Wings and boneless chicken
Wings are the lowest-carb item we found on the menu, but the sauce decides how low. Plain and hot wings are in single digits, while barbecue and sweet mango habanero add more than ten grams of sugar per four wings.
| Item | Serving | Calories | Carbs (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plain wings | 4 wings | 190 | 7 | 0 | 13 |
| Hot wings | 4 wings | 200 | 8 | 1 | 13 |
| BBQ wings | 4 wings | 240 | 18 | 10 | 13 |
| Sweet mango habanero wings | 4 wings | 240 | 20 | 11 | 13 |
| Boneless chicken | 3 pieces | 170 | 18 | 1 | 9 |
Source: FastFoodNutrition.org (no page dates shown). The hot wings page lists 1,660 mg of sodium for four wings, which is worth knowing if you also watch your blood pressure; see our average blood pressure guide.
Sides, breads, and dips
The sides are where the data gets thin. For several of them the database lists calories, fat, and protein but not carbohydrate, so we cannot give a carb total. We show what is listed and leave the rest blank rather than guess.
| Item | Serving | Calories | Carbs (g) | Protein (g) | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 cheese oven baked dip | 2 tbsp | 130 | 3 | 6 | Dated 12/3/2021 |
| Cinnamon bread twists | 2 pieces | 250 | 31 | 5 | Sugars 5 g |
| Stuffed cheesy bread (cheese) | not listed | 150 | – | 6 | Carbs not listed |
| Stuffed cheesy bread (pepperoni) | not listed | 170 | – | 7 | Carbs not listed |
| Loaded tots (Philly cheese steak) | not listed | 200 | – | 6 | Carbs not listed; dated 2/6/2023 |
| Loaded tots (cheddar bacon) | not listed | 240 | – | 7 | Carbs not listed; dated 2/6/2023 |
A dip looks low-carb at 3 g per two tablespoons, but a dip is usually eaten with bread, so the dip is rarely the whole story. Tots and breads are starch, so assume the carb count is meaningful even where the table has a dash. A dash does not mean zero.
Pasta and bread bowls
The pasta dishes are the heaviest items on the menu by calories, and the database does not list their carbohydrates, so we can only show calories and protein.
| Item | Regular (cal) | Bread bowl (cal) | Protein, regular (g) | Protein, bread bowl (g) | Carbs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicken alfredo | 620 | 690 | 27 | 25 | not listed |
| Italian sausage marinara | 690 | 730 | 28 | 25 | not listed |
| Pasta primavera | 550 | 660 | 16 | 19 | not listed |
One thing we can say from the calories: the bread bowl version adds 40 to 110 calories to the same pasta, and bread is a starch, so the carbs go up too. How much, we cannot say from the data we could read.
Desserts
| Item | Serving | Calories | Carbs (g) | Sugars (g) | Protein (g) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chocolate lava crunch cake | 1 cake | 350 | 47 | 31 | 4 |
| Marbled cookie brownie | 1 brownie | 190 | 25 | 18 | 2 |
| Cinnamon bread twists | 2 pieces | 250 | 31 | 5 | 5 |
Source: FastFoodNutrition.org (no page dates shown). The lava cake page lists 17 g of fat, but its calories-from-fat figure of 160 implies a bit more; a minor inconsistency in the source.
What about drinks?
The database we used lists no drink items for Domino’s, so we have no drink numbers to show. Soda, sweet tea, and juice can add a large amount of carbohydrate without you noticing, so check the label on the bottle or the app before adding one. Water, unsweetened tea, or a zero-sugar drink adds none.
A worked example: four orders compared
Here are four example orders, added up from the numbers above. The portions are examples, not recommendations. The pizza rows use the database’s listed servings, so if your slice is smaller, your total will be lower.
| Order | Pieces | Carbs (g) | How it adds up |
|---|---|---|---|
| A: hand-tossed pizza with wings | 2 hand-tossed servings + 4 plain wings | 117 | 2 x 55 + 7 |
| B: thin crust with wings | 2 thin-crust servings + 4 plain wings | 69 | 2 x 31 + 7 |
| C: deep dish with dessert | 2 deep-dish servings + lava cake | 155 | 2 x 54 + 47 |
| D: skip the pizza | 4 plain wings + 3 boneless chicken | 25 | 7 + 18 |
The gap between the heaviest and lightest order is 130 g (155 minus 25). Moving from order A to order B saves 48 g just by choosing thin crust. If the hospital library’s one-slice figure of 36.5 g is closer to your slice, order A would come to about 80 g instead of 117 g, which shows how much the answer depends on what a “slice” means at your store. This is a counting exercise, not a prediction of how your glucose will respond. To see that, use a meter or CGM; our post-meal glucose tracker and CGM guide show how.
Ordering ideas to discuss
- Start with the pieces, not the pizza. Decide how many slices you will eat before the box opens.
- Compare crusts by weight. Thin crust lists lower carbs per serving, but check whether the slice is lighter or just the data is.
- Choose plain or hot wings over sweet sauces. The sauce is the difference between about 7 g and about 20 g per four wings.
- Treat sides as part of the meal. Breads, tots, and twists each add starch.
- Plan the drink and dessert first. They are the easiest to skip or swap.
- Move after eating. See our guide to walking after meals.
Common mistakes
- Counting one slice of a very different size. A database slice may not match yours, so use the app for your exact order.
- Ignoring the sauce on wings. Sweet sauces add sugar quickly.
- Treating a dash as zero. Several sides and pastas have no carb figure listed.
- Adding a dessert or soda at the end. They are the largest single add-ons in our example.
- Trusting one source. We found two sources that disagreed on the same item by about 18 g.
Questions to bring to your appointment
- What carbohydrate range per meal should I aim for when I eat out?
- Should I test my glucose before and after a pizza meal to learn how I respond?
- Do my medicines mean I should plan a meal like this differently?
- Would a CGM help me see the effect of a high-fat, high-carb meal over several hours?
- How should I count restaurant carbs when the numbers vary by source?
Frequently asked questions
How many carbs are in a slice of Domino’s pizza?
It depends on the crust, size, and slice. The database we used lists a large hand-tossed cheese serving at 55 g, thin crust at 31 g, and deep dish at 54 g. A hospital nutrition library lists one slice of 14-inch hand-tossed cheese at 36.5 g. The two sources disagree, so treat these as a range and check the Domino’s app for your order.
Is thin crust lower in carbs at Domino’s?
On the listed servings, yes: 31 g for thin crust against 55 g for hand-tossed. Part of that is because the thin-crust serving weighs less (106 g against 159 g), so the carbs per 100 g are closer than the totals suggest.
Are Domino’s wings low in carbs?
Plain and hot wings list 7 to 8 g of carbs for four wings. Barbecue and sweet mango habanero list 18 and 20 g because of the sugar in the sauce. If you want the lowest carbs, plain or hot wings are the better choice.
Does Domino’s list carbs for its pasta?
The pages we could read list calories, fat, and protein for the pasta dishes but not carbohydrates, so we cannot give a carb count. The bread bowl versions add calories compared with the regular dishes, which suggests more starch.
What is the best Domino’s order for someone with diabetes?
There is no single best order, and it depends on your goals and medicines. In our examples, wings with a small amount of boneless chicken came to about 25 g of carbs, while two deep-dish servings with a lava cake came to about 155 g. Ask your care team what range fits you.
Can I trust these numbers?
Treat them as estimates. Domino’s own nutrition pages were not reachable, so the figures come from FastFoodNutrition.org, which lists Domino’s as its source, and one hospital library. Most pages show no date, and the two sources differ on the same item. Confirm in the Domino’s app before relying on a number.
Should I check my blood sugar after pizza?
Many people find it useful to test before and after a meal like pizza, because it is high in both carbs and fat. Ask your care team how and when to test, and see our post-meal glucose tracker and CGM guide for ways to read your own data.
About the author: Charles Kirkland is the founder of Metabolic Clarity Labs and author of The Journey Back. He is not a physician. This is general education, not a medically reviewed treatment plan.
Sources checked October 31, 2026. Discuss personal decisions with a qualified clinician. Do not start, stop, or change prescribed treatment based on this article.


Leave a Reply